FVH projects in The Gambia
our projects

Since its founding in 1998, CHF 1 million has been invested to develop, support and maintain projects in the areas of health, education and agriculture in The Gambia. The FVH cooperates closely with the governmental ministries of The Gambia in order to adapt the country’s programmes and strategies in these areas. Please have a look at our current major projects in The Gambia.

Since 2014: Tanji Education Center (TEC)
+

At the FVH General Assembly on 2 June 2014, the foundation stone was laid for the Tanji Education Center (TEC). This initiative is in response to the sad fact that today The Gambia represents one of the main African countries from where refugees originate; every fourth to fifth refugee who manages to cross the Mediterranean to Europe comes from The Gambia.

Since 2011: Rossi Clinic in Pakali Ba
+

As the nearest medical station is more than 100 km away, in 2011 we decided to renovate a vacant building and set up a small clinic for births and primary medical care. In 2012 the clinic was named after a generous donor to the FVH.

Since 2007: Agricultural Project in Pakali Ba

We have been running the Pakali Ba farming project since 2007. With our help, Kajali Jobarteh, a former employee of the FVH in The Gambia, returned to his village to start a rice plantation programme by showing local farmers how, despite the arid vegetation, they can harvest enough produce for their own personal use and for resale. The FVH provides equipment and fertilisers to boost growth on a yearly basis.

Since 2001: Godchild Giki
+

Giki Barrow was born in 2000, and we support his education with the aim that Giki will be able to build a sustainable existence in adulthood.

Since 1997: Nursery School in Kunkujang
+

The construction of the public school in Kunkujang was the FVH’s first project in The Gambia. Later we expanded the school to seven classrooms to accommodate more than 300 children. And over time we added a vegetable garden, a playground, a football field, a kitchen and a space for sewing classes.

Between 2014 and 2016: “Wide Open Walls”

Wide Open Walls is an international and intercultural project launched in 2010, aiming to raise awareness of the need for peace, understanding and respect, allowing international creatives to experience Africa, and aiding the local community. It was founded by the British Lawrence Williams, wanting to enliven the area of the village called Galloya with a sustainable tourism and specific projects that helped the people of the area.

Some of the best artists from all over the world like Sickboy, Know Hope, Xenz, Tika, David Shillinglaw, RUN, Remi Rough, ROA, Lucy McLauchlan, INSA, Eelus, Bushdwellers, Broken Crow and Best Ever joined Wide Open Walls by creating art on the houses of Galloya. FVH ideationallysupports Wide Open Walls and made a donation in 2016 to maintain this amazing project.

FVH-Projekte in The Gambia
Die Projekte

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 1998 hat der Förderverein Humanitas mehr als 1 Million Schweizer Franken für Projekte in den Bereichen Bildung, Gesundheit und Landwirtschaft in The Gambia investiert. Vor Ort arbeiten wir eng mit der Regierung und den Ministerien zusammen, damit unsere Projekte den Regierungsprogrammen in diesen Bereichen entsprechen. Verschaffen Sie sich ein Überblick der aktuellen FVH-Projekte in The Gambia.

Seit 2014: Tanji Education Center (TEC)
+

An der Generalversammlung des FVH am 2. Juni 2014 wurde der Grundstein für das «Tanji Education Center» gelegt. Ausschlaggebend hierfür war mitunter die traurige Tatsache, dass The Gambia inzwischen eines der Hauptherkunftsländer afrikanischer Flüchtlinge ist: Jeder vierte bis fünfte Flüchtling, der es über das Mittelmeer nach Europa schafft, kommt aus The Gambia.

Seit 2011: Rossi Klinik in Pakali Ba
+

Weil die nächste medizinische Station mehr als 100 km entfernt war, haben wir 2011 beschlossen, ein leerstehendes Gebäude zu renovieren und eine kleine Klinik für Geburten und medizinische Erstversorgungen einzurichten. 2012 wurde die Klinik nach einer grosszügigen Spenderin und Freundin des FVH benannt.

Seit 2007: Landwirtschaftsprojekt in Pakali Ba

In Pakali Ba führen wir seit 2007 das PakaliBa Farming Project. Kajali Jobarteh, ein ehemaliger Mitarbeiter des FVH in The Gambia, kehrte damals in sein Dorf zurück, um den lokalen Bauern mit unserer Unterstützung zu zeigen, wie man trotz der dürren Vegetation eine gute Ernte für den Eigengebrauch und zum Weiterverkauf erzielen kann. Der FVH stellt jedes Jahr die nötigen Werkzeuge und Samen zur Verfügung.

Seit 2001: Patenkind Giki
+

Giki Barrow ist im Jahr 2000 zur Welt gekommen. Wir unterstützen Giki in Bezug auf die Schule und Ausbildung mit dem Ziel, dass sich Giki eine nachhaltige Existenz aufbauen kann.

Seit 1997: Nursery School in Kunkujang
+

Der Aufbau der öffentlichen Vorschule in Kunkujang war das erste Projekt des FVH in The Gambia. Später haben wir die Schule auf 7 Klassenzimmer mit Platz für über 300 Kinder ausgebaut. Dazu kamen mit der Zeit ein Gemüsegarten, Spielplatz, Fussballfeld, Küche mit Arbeitsraum für Nähkurse.

Von 2014 bis 2016: «Wide Open Walls»

WOW ist ein internationales Streetart-Projekt, welches 2010 vom Engländer Lawrence Williams initiiert wurde, der seit vielen Jahren in The Gambia lebt und arbeitet. Das primäre Ziel dieser aussergewöhnlichen Kunst-Aktion ist die Lenkung der weltweiten Aufmerksamkeit auf eine ländliche Region in The Gambia, die Förderung dieser Region durch einen sanften Tourismus und das Sammeln von Geldern, um in dieser Region Schulen zu bauen.

Weltbekannte Streetart-Künstler wie Sickboy, Know Hope, Xenz, Tika, David Shillinglaw, RUN, Remi Rough, ROA, Lucy McLauchlan, INSA, Eelus, Bushdwellers, Broken Crow and Best Ever setzten sich mit der Region auseinander und sprayten ihre Werke stets im Kontext zur Umgebung auf die Häuser der Bewohner in Galloya. Der Förderverein Humanitas unterstützt WOW ideell und hat 2016 ein namhafter Betrag gespendet, um die Fortsetzung dieses inspirierenden Projekts zu sichern.